Changes to Live By

Me (in Santa hat) with my fellow Credit Suisse volunteers and Santa at The Family Center Holiday Open House

Me (in a Santa hat) with my fellow Credit Suisse volunteers and Santa at The Family Center Holiday Party

“If we could change ourselves, the tendencies in the world would also change. As a man changes his own nature, so does the attitude of the world change towards him. … We need not wait to see what others do.” – Gandhi

In May of 2010, I made a conscience decision to make that change in my life by joining the Leadership Council (Junior Board) of The Family Center.  While I had been living in Manhattan and working in the corporate world for quite some time,  I had the urge to make a positive difference in my community. I heard about The Family Center through a current Board Member and one of the Leadership Council Co-Chairs, and decided this was definitely the organization I would like to get more involved with.  It was the perfect opportunity for me to aid vulnerable children of the city I live in, whether it be through organizing and fundraising at Bloom (our spring event) which benefits The Family Center Buddy Program, volunteering as Jamie the Elf at the annual Holiday Party, attending the annual softball game in Central Park or collecting toys for our annual toy drive-there are constantly opportunities to get more involved.  After all, this is the youth of the city we live in and they need our help.

The Leadership Council hosts social gatherings for professionals interested in supporting The Family Center. It’s a time for those involved to catch up, socialize and network.

(From left to right) Leadership Council Co-Chair Antonio, Buddy and Leadership Council member Simon, Board Chair Amy, and me, Jamie, Leadership Council Secretary

(From left to right) Leadership Council members, The Family Center Board Chair, and me, Jamie, Leadership Council Secretary

Why not make a change now?  Don’t wait -RSVP  for the next Leadership Council social on July 17, 2013. 

-Jamie, Leadership Council Secretary

Click here to learn more about The Family Center Leadership Council.

Click here to learn more about The Family Center Buddy Program.



Leave a comment