Breast Cancer-Impacted Clients Share Their Stories

The Family Center’s Legal Wellness Institute works with breast cancer patients, survivors and affected families all year long. But we wanted to take a moment at the close of this Breast Cancer Awareness Month to highlight our legal work with women and families coping with the illness through our Maite Aquino Program and Judge Judith Kaye Project. These programs are made possible thanks to the generous support of the Judges and Lawyers Breast Cancer Alert (JALBCA). Here’s what three of our clients had to say about the impact of our services: 

[The Family Center’s] Maite Aquino Program has provided me with legal representation in Bronx Housing Court. My attorney has met me at my doctor’s office.  She even appeared on my behalf in Court only days before the system shut down due to COVID… While I would not wish my breast cancer and housing nightmare on anyone, I do wish more of the world knew about the impact of The Maite Aquino Program.  Because of JALBCA and Maite Aquino’s legacy, my family and I had a safe home during the COVID pandemic.  I am grateful to have remained COVID-negative – something that might have been impossible in the shelter system.” – Patrice, Breast Cancer Patient

My life was literally devastated by breast cancer. About two months after my surgery I called The Family Center. They were able to provide me with an attorney through the Judge Judith Kaye Project…. My attorney Lauren saved me in so many ways… Lauren was more than just an attorney… She was also able to refer me for at-home counseling [through The Family Center] and my counselor Sabina came to see me weekly. She helped me at my weakest and lowest points….  I have been through 9 surgeries in the past 3 years. Because of The Family Center I had support every step of the way. I’m still healing. I’m back at work. I graduated culinary school this June. Every day I’m thankful. My journey to health has been a long, hard, challenging experience. My mom says ‘Daughter, no matter what, you be the soldier on the battlefield.’ I’m here today to tell you that I have evolved into a warrior.  – Bertina, Breast Cancer Survivor

[My daughter] at the age of 29 was diagnosed with Stage 3 breast cancer. Prior to her passing away, we were introduced to The Family Center. There’s so much that they have done for me that I could not have done on my own, as far as legal papers, going to the courts, getting legal guardianship [of my granddaughters], they found a support group for the kids and myself for bereavement. This is a good thing. This is really an excellent organization. – Melva, Mother and Grandmother



Leave a comment